Saturday, March 18, 2023
HomeBeerAHA Governing Committee Assembly Abstract: January 2023

AHA Governing Committee Assembly Abstract: January 2023

Hyperlink to article

The next is a abstract of the January 2023 assembly of your American Homebrewers Affiliation Governing Committee (GC).

GC Members Current: Matt Bolling, Sandy Cockerham, Shawn Cormier, Chris Frey, Chris Hummert, Annie Johnson, Amy Martin, Melissa McCann, Jill Marilley, Doug Piper, Cassie Salinas, Goose Steingass, Roxanne Westendorf, Gail Milburn. Absent:  Jen Blair

AHA Employees:  Julia Herz

  • Approval of November assembly notes.
  • 2022 GC Successes: Government Director Julia Herz introduced a evaluate of the 2022 accomplishments of the GC. They embody:
    • Moved most GC communications to Basecamp.
    • Transitioned off three expired members: Denny Conn, Carvin Wilson, and Donna Reuter.
    • Permitted a slate of 12 poll candidates to run within the 2022 election.
    • Onboarded 3 new GC members: Doug Piper, Melissa McCann, and Matt Bolling.
    • Transitioned in new GC chair Shawna Cormier, with Jll Marilley shifting to previous chair.
    • Paused the 2023 GC election permitting the group to proceed to develop, formalize and get time to create requirements of the GC function and stipulations for future GC candidates.
    • Outlined a path to completion earlier than forming a subcommittee or working group.
    • Established the next subgroups:
      • Occasions and Training Subcommittee
      • Competitors Working Group
      • HBC Classes Working Group
      • DEI – AHA was invited to co-chair the Brewers Affiliation DEI Committee
    • Established charters for GC, Exec Subcommittee, and Occasions & Training.
    • Instituted chair/co-chair coaching.
  • Evaluate of GC Deadline doc.
  • Government Director Notes
    • Reviewed the outcomes of the 2022 Membership Survey and survey respondents had been emailed a abstract of key findings.
    • AHA Membership in 2022 was 36,000.
    • Brew Guru is sunsetting. – Customers of Brew Guru shall be inspired to avoid wasting the member offers web page to their dwelling display on their cell gadgets.AHA membership card may also be accessed on the member’s account through
    • The AHA Discussion board is being researched to be up to date.
    • Homebrew Con large image
      • The seminar choice working group has begun to evaluate seminar purposes.
      • HBC is being developed as a “fermentation trip”.
      • There shall be an Business Coalition assembly on Friday at HBC.New occasion is the Homebrew Officer Bootcamp.We could have two workshops in lieu of some seminars.Someday of Nationwide Homebrew Competitors (NHC) judging for last spherical shall be on Wednesday and is organized in live performance with BJCP.
      • GC annual assembly shall be on Saturday.
  • Chair Replace:
  • Subcommittee Updates:
    • 2023 Large Brew Recipe shall be Chris Frey’s Almost Nirvana Pale Ale.
    • Zymurgy Stay will kick off on January 25. There three months of webinars scheduled.  Data on audio system and subjects might be discovered at
    • Competitors Working Group seeks expert individuals to run and decide in NHC.
    • 9 NHC first-round websites have already been picked and registered with the BJCP.
    • The NHC web site is dwell. Entry window for the competitors opens on January 24 for just one week. 
    • The person seminar choice grading was accomplished on January 10, 2023.
    • The Mannequin Code of Conduct for Golf equipment is on the market on Basecamp for GC evaluate.
    • Shawna Cormier joins the BA Board in February.
    • The Business Group has reviewed the evaluate of draft of the Retailers Survey, and the GC and concepts from the GC have been included into the survey. 

Governing Committee Phrases & Committees Listing

Identify Committees Time period Finish
Jen Blair Business 2024
Matt Bolling Business 2025
Sandy Cockerham Competitors 2024
Shawna Cormier (Chair) Brewers Affiliation Board, Government Subcommittee 2025
Chris P. Frey Occasions & Training 2024
Julia Herz AHA Employees Liaison (Government Director), Government Subcommittee workers
Chris Hummert 2023
Annie Johnson 2023
Jill Marilley Government Subcommittee 2025
Amy Martin (Vice-Chair) Government Subcommittee, Occasions & Training 2025
Gail Milburn Competitors 2023
Melissa McCann 2025
Doug Piper Occasions & Training 2025
Cassie Salinas 2023
Elmer Steingass (Secretary) Government Subcommittee 2025
Roxanne Westendorf Brewers Affiliation Board, Government Subcommittee, Range 2026


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments